President of the Republic meets the ruling coalition in South Africa

Pretoria (South Africa), October 19, 2022 (SPS) - The President of the Republic and the Secretary-General of the Polisario Front Mr. Brahim Ghali met today, with the ruling coalition in South Africa.

During the meeting, the political parties forming the ruling coalition in South Africa renewed their unconditional support for the Sahrawi people, stressing that the meeting was an opportunity to strengthen the strong relations that bind them with the Polisario Front, as well as to search for new mechanisms to raise awareness on the Sahrawi issue.

The meeting also discussed ways of strengthening cooperation and partnership between the ruling coalition in South Africa and the Polisario Front in various fields.

For his part, the President of the Republic, the Secretary-General of the Front, Mr. Brahim Ghali, thanked the coalition for accompanying the Sahrawi people in their legitimate struggle for freedom, self-determination and independence.

Addressing the ruling coalition, President Brahim Ghali added, "We lived through the same suffering and sacrifices that South Africa experienced in the face of colonialism and racial discrimination."


He also briefed the ruling coalition on the latest developments of the Sahrawi cause, noting that the situation has changed since November 13, 2022, after Morocco violated the ceasefire agreement, which forced us the Sahrawi army to resume the war to defend the legitimate rights of the Sahrawi people.


The President of the Republic is accompanied by an important delegation that included Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mohamed Salem Ould Salek, Minister of Cooperation, Fatima Mehdi, Minister of Social Affairs and Promotion of Women, Sweilma Berouk, National Director of Security, Documentation and Protection of Institutions, Sidi Okal, Advisor to the Presidency of the Republic, Abdati Breika, Central Director of Operations and Inspection at the Ministry of National Defence, Abba Sheikh Mohamed, Ambassador to South Africa, Mohamed Yeslem Beiset.

It is worth mentioning that South Africa's ruling tripartite coalition includes the African National Congress (ANC), the South African Trade Union Congress (COSATU), and the South African Communist Party.